Food again, mostly

2 10 2010

I didn’t get any pictures to prove it, but we had our awesome food night again this week. We didn’t pull it off on Friday, so we had to settle for Saturday. Just as well, I’d say. We did some of the prep work here, and then took everything over to Karissa’s to finish up. Poor sister-in-law is home alone for awhile…except for her sister and nephew, who are staying with her and the kiddos…she’s really not home alone at all, now that I think about it. I just meant that Kenton’s gone right now. ANYWAY. We made eggplant and chicken parmesan and homemade sauce and pasta (not homemade) and spinach salad. No dessert this time. And bread, I almost forgot the bread. It all turned out deliciously, if I may say so myself. And I may, because this is my blog. So…just had to record the happenings of the evening here for posterity. Sorry again that there are no pictures to make it more exciting. And believable.

In other news, Kirk’s dad is out of the hospital today after having open heart surgery. He’s doing well, but will have a few months of recovery, including therapy. We’re very thankful, of course, that everything went well.

This morning we went out to the farmers’ market at the North Market. We’ve been to the NM lots of times, but, for some reason, never to the farmers’ market on Saturday mornings. We, of course, enjoyed being there, and even brought home a few things, including the unlucky eggplant who was then eaten, parmesan-style.

Did I mention that we made our first pumpkin pancakes of the season this morning? We did. Pumpkin pancake season is now open. You can find the recipe here.  And, while I’m at it, here’s a recipe for the best pumpkin muffins I’ve ever had.  Ever.

Actions

Information

2 responses

4 10 2010
Kristin Bucher

If you are going to rub in about all the yummy food you really do need pictures. Really! I’ll just add to your guilt.

Agreed that the Spiced Pumpkin Muffins are the best ever. I will most likely not use another pumpkin muffin recipe unless there’s a blazin’ hot heat wave through the south pole and I find another. 🙂

So glad that you can hang out with Karissa. And Dad is looking good through crappy webcams and internet on both sides. 🙂 So, he must be looking really good in person.

10 10 2010
rachel

oh Kar Kar! I think we shall move to Ohio after Dave is done school. Then every Friday I’ll keep your kids (kidS!! = ) for you and you can cook for all of us. Sound like a deal? We’ll pitch in for the food too. Yer such a good little Martha, Hilda, what have you.

Leave a Reply

