Now Let’s Think This Through…

31 08 2011

Do I want to go to the park today?

Sigh.
First, I have to pack a lunch.
Then I have to pack up the diaper bag.
Then I have to wake Sofia up early from her nap.
Then I have to load up both girls in the car.
Soon after we get to the park, I will have to feed Sofia.
Then it will be time for lunch, and I’ll have a wiggly almost-3-year-old to convince it’s time to not play and eat, at least a little bit.
Then I will feed solids to Sofia.
She takes a long time.
She is extremely messy, so it will take some effort and a lot of wipes to clean us both up (yes, she’s that messy).
Soon after that, it will be time to pack up and head home.
The girls will fall asleep in their car seats.
I will have to carry two sleeping girls into the house.
The naps they have in the car will very likely spoil their real naps.
I will probably get nothing done in the afternoon that I have planned because they will be awake.
They will be grouchy all evening because they didn’t get good naps.
I might be grouchy.
This doesn’t even include all the unforeseen things that could happen.

Is it worth it?

Sunshine, friends, exercise…character building…

Why am I sitting here? I should be packing up for the park.

Actions

Information

6 responses

31 08 2011
Marcia

Yikes. That is a hard decision. =)

Could you let them finish their naps in their carseats…. roll down the windows… pull a chair out to the sidewalk… drink some lemonade and read a book while keeping an eye on them? I mean, you weren’t going to get anything productive done anyways, right? =)

1 09 2011
Karla

I went and it was totally worth it! Only Sofia fell asleep this time, so that was good. Marci, you’ve been in my ‘hood, haven’t you? 🙂 Not ideal for sitting on the sidewalk. Plus, they’d never take a full nap in a car that’s not moving. Good try though! 🙂

31 08 2011
Rita

So that’s why we have babies while we’re still young. The whole post almost made me want to go take a(nother) nap!

31 08 2011
rhondablogs

so, did you go? 🙂 i’d vote for staying home and going when they are 5 and 7. ha. 🙂

31 08 2011
karissa

Oh, its always worth it…;-)

12 09 2011
Rachel

But Rhonda, if she waits till they’re 5 and 7, what’ll she do with the girls that are 1 and 3 when she wants to go to the park?? haha – glad you had fun Karla. Hey, why don’t you come see me? We’re practically neighbors you know. And I think we need a taste test between Jenni’s ice crean and Valpo Velvet ice cream. I’m pretty sure it’d be close. = )

Leave a Reply

